top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekriti T

Why we do what we do

We all think that we are better than the second person, we are better than most of them. But hey, let me help you with a secret, we are not. We are as miserable as anyone and our thoughts and superiority complex is a valid proof of our insecurities.

As human beings, we are all insecure. Some of us think that our looks are not good enough, some of us think that our intelligence is not good enough. The truth is we are not good enough. We just aren’t. We are capable of greatness but the catch is not many of us are brave enough to embrace that and take the leap of faith and when we don’t do that we just remain our mediocre selves and therefore never being “good enough” for our own good. The things that we do, the things that we say, most of the time these things come from a place of deep-rooted issues, which are conveniently ignored by us. We all can be better human beings if we just start to focus on our inner functioning than spending all of that time impressing other people.

Most of us operate out of our insecurities meaning that most of us will end up doing unto others what we will never want others to do unto us. It doesn’t matter how well we think of ourselves, we always have something- one annoying habit, one recurring thought or one weird quirk that we don’t like about ourselves and that’s okay, as long as you’re working on it. What do we usually do when we don’t like something? We don’t do it. The same logic works for life.

The best way to make the most out of anything is to immerse yourself in whatever you’re doing.  Work? Give your 100%. Love? give all that you have. Trust me, we all have more to give than we think. Insecurities may not be the best thing about us but we all have them and that’s completely normal. Can we do anything about them? Of course, we can. And as long as whatever we are doing is not hurting anyone, we are on the right track.

Take me for example, I overthink. I make up scenarios that never existed in my head and make things worse, for everyone. I empathize. A lot. To the extent that I get depressed for someone’s dead parrot on the internet and feel low for the next few days, affecting everything and everyone around me in the process and that’s not healthy at all. I am trying to work on it and God! it’s so hard! The first step in this exercise is for me to focus on other things, things that help me and stop thinking about the thing/person/object that’s bringing me anxiety and unhappiness. I start with detaching from things, maybe that’s not the best practice but I’m hoping either that will make that person realize and if they want to stay in my life, they will make an effort or we will reduce our interactions, but I am sure whatever will happen, will be the best course for my life.

The key here is to never stop trying. Keep working on yourself, you will get there. Others may not see how much you’re hurting or working hard to become a better person but that’s okay. They might give you advice on how you should live your life and you should take it, albeit with a pinch of salt. Don’t be rude unless you totally have to.

This article is a fragmented mess, just like my life. *sigh* some things never change.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page